H 70° L 46°
Partly Cloudy | 15MPH

Spring election season begins now

Candidates must file for various local races

Dec. 1, 2009

It's not that far away.

The filing period for spring elections has begun and there will be a plenty of seats up for grabs and races to watch in the coming months.

The spring election will be held April 6, with the necessary primary elections to be held on Feb. 16.

Residents interested in running for public office this spring have until 5 p.m. Jan. 5 to officially declare their intention to do so. Tuesday was the first day candidates could begin circulating nomination papers for municipal races.


Two spots on the Village Board and the municipal judge are up for election in April.

Village trustees Ronald Barbian's and Jeffrey Birmingham's three-year terms are set to expire in April. Municipal Judge Mark Kapocius is up for another two-year term.

Residents can file nomination papers in the clerk's office of Village Hall, 6500 Northway.

On the Greendale School Board, the three-year terms of Victoria McCormick and Thomas Slota will expire in April. A declaration of candidacy and campaign registration statement should be filed in the district offices, 5900 S. 51st St.

Hales Corners

The Whitnall School Board seats occupied by Suzette Larson, Michael Clarizio and Rick Kollauf will expire in April. Candidates are elected to three-year terms.

Interested residents need to file a declaration of candidacy and a registration statement at the Whitnall School District office, 5000 S. 116th St.

On the Hales Corners Village Board, Village President Robert Ruesch is up for re-election, as are trustees Mary Bennett, Marjorie Stahl and Dan Besson.

The terms for the president and trustees are two years. Nomination papers must be filed with the village clerk's office, 5635 S. New Berlin Road.


Three aldermen positions - now represented by Steve Olson in the 1st district, Tim Solomon in the 2nd and Lyle Sohns in the 5th - will be open on the Franklin Common Council.

Terms are three years. Nomination papers can be picked up and must be filed with the city clerk's office in City Hall, 9229 W. Loomis Road.

The Franklin School Board has three members up for re-election: Debbie Larson, Jeff Traylor and board President Dave Szychlinski.

A campaign registration statement and a declaration of candidacy must be filed at the School District offices, 8255 W. Forest Hill Ave.

Oak Creek

In Oak Creek, Aldermen Daniel Bukiewicz, Michael Toman and Thomas Michalski face re-election, as do City Clerk Pamela Bauer, Municipal Judge Alice Rudebusch and City Treasurer Barbara Guckenberger.

All of those offices are two-year terms. Nomination papers should be filed at City Hall, 8640 S. Howell Ave.

The Oak Creek-Franklin School Board has two members up for re-election: Paul Mason and board President Frank Carini. Members are elected to three-year terms. Paperwork should be filed at the district offices, 7630 S. 10th St.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Suburban News Roundup

E-mail Newsletter

Your link to the biggest stories in the suburbs delivered Thursday mornings.

Enter your e-mail address above and click "Sign Up Now!" to begin receiving your e-mail newsletter
Get the Newsletter!

Login or Register to manage all your newsletter preferences.

Local Crime Map


Latest Photo Galleries